Sustained by the Hand of the Gracious Lord

Last night I had an experience which I have every once in a while—I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t get back to sleep. When this happens I usually get up and spend some time reading the Bible and praying. Last night I came across these verses:

             The steps of a man are established by the Lord;

            And He delights in his way.

            When he falls, he shall not be hurled headlong;

            Because the Lord is the One who sustains him with His hand.

                                                                        (Psalm 37:23-24)

These verses were especially encouraging to me because I had a number of situations this past week which pushed me out of my comfort zone. When you are out of your comfort zone your situations are, by definition, uncomfortable, unpleasant, and even challenging.

I have to admit—I did not handle them well.

Rather than trusting that the Lord was establishing my steps, and so bringing Him pleasure, I gave in to anger, frustration and aggravation. I fell.

Last night, through the verses above, I received gospel comfort. Though I fell, the Lord protected me against being hurled headlong. Though I fell, the sustaining grace of the Lord was present with me.

The forgiveness and cleansing power of the gospel rescued me from guilt and shame that could keep me down and overwhelm me. That same powerful gospel can provide what I need to walk in the steps that the Lord establishes for me and so bring delight to Him.

Stepping out of my comfort zone—not something I particularly enjoy. But it’s in that zone that real change often occurs and, while it can be difficult, we are sustained in that zone by the hand of the gracious Lord.

Have you been out of your comfort zone lately?

About Dr. John H. Harbison

Son of God, Husband, Father, Author of "Keeping Christ in Ministry,"Vice-President for Academic Affairs, College Pastor, Runner, Writer
This entry was posted in Successful Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sustained by the Hand of the Gracious Lord

  1. Pat says:

    Hello John this post is just the best,not many will admit to giving into anger. This is the stuff that makes us and keeps us at Jesus feet ever seeking to give Him more honor. Being honest is the greatest testimony I do believe!
    Love you 😀

  2. John H. Harbison says:

    Thanks for your kind words, Pat. You are always an encouragement.

  3. It seems that being out of my comfort zone has been the norm rather than the exception, lately. Thank you for this post. I am particularly encouraged with your testimony, John, that the Lord protected you from being hurled headlong. The God of all comfort surrounds us even when we think, in our human estimation, that we are out of our comfort zone… He holds us in the palm of His hand.

  4. It is an encouragement to know that the God of all comfort surrounds us. Thanks for the blessed reminder.

Leave a Reply

