The DMV and the Redeemed Multitude

One of the places in the world where time seemingly stands still is at the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles—notorious here in southern California). It has the same feeling as Bill Murray’s movie Groundhog Day except instead of living the same day over and over again, you are living the same hour over and over again.

I had to go the DMV this week to renew my license. When I arrived I found that they now have outside lines (those with appointments, like me, and those without). This kept everyone from flooding inside where hundreds of people crowd each other and jostle for position. Even so, the number of people inside was incredible. Every seat was taken and many other people were standing.

It was a little disheartening to find out that a whole group of people had an appointment the same time as I did. While the woman processing the paperwork and the security guard fought about what time it was, I waited in another line.

As I stood in line I watched the people in the DMV. I saw people of all colors, of all sizes and shapes, and of all ages. Some dressed impeccably (probably hoping to make it to work) and others dressed far less impeccably. Some were openly obnoxious and complained about the wait while others were surprisingly pleasant and patient.

All of these people reminded me of an unredeemed multitude but it also put me in mind of the redeemed multitude of Revelation 7:9-10. The redeemed multitude was from every nation, tribe, people and tongue, many of them represented at the DMV. The redeemed multitude was all clothed in white robes—impeccability did not play a part. The redeemed multitude cried out with loud voices, not to obnoxiously complain, but to praise God with these words: “Salvation to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb.”

I wondered how many of those at the DMV would also be at that gathering before the throne of God.

Perhaps the most unanticipated part of the day was that once I was in the line that was inside the DMV, it did not take me very long at all to complete what had to be done. That was glory in the grind!

However, what sticks with me is the multitude. We can rejoice as those who one day will be a part of that great, heavenly multitude. Then there will no longer be the glory of the grind—there will only be glory!

About Dr. John H. Harbison

Son of God, Husband, Father, Author of "Keeping Christ in Ministry,"Vice-President for Academic Affairs, College Pastor, Runner, Writer
This entry was posted in Successful Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

